• Press Info
  • News
  • Media Kit
  • Request a Proposal
Game Developers Choice Awards logo

About the Game Developers Choice Awards

Game Developers Choice Awards are the premier accolades for peer-recognition in the digital games industry, celebrating creativity, artistry and technological genius. Industry professionals from around the world nominate for the awards, free of charge, ensuring that the recipients reflect the community's opinions.

Awards in twelve categories will be given at a ceremony produced by the Game Developers Conference (GDC) and presented on Wednesday, March 21, 2018. The gala event, held in conjunction with the Independent Games Festival, will be hosted in of San Francisco's Moscone Convention Center.

For further details about the Choice Awards, visit www.gamechoiceawards.com.

Awards Categories

The Game Developers Choice Awards recognize excellence in the art of game creation regardless of genre or platform. The award categories are:

Best Audio

The Best Audio Award recognizes the overall excellence of audio in a game - including, but not limited to, sound effects, musical composition, sound design, orchestration, etc.

Best Design

The Best Design Award recognizes the overall excellence of design in a game - including, but not limited to, gameplay mechanics, playability, play balancing, and level design.

Best Technology

The Best Technology Award recognizes the overall excellence of technology in a game - including, but not limited to, graphics programming, artificial intelligence, networking, and physics.

Best Visual Art

The Best Visual Art Award recognizes the overall excellence of visual art in a game - including, but not limited to, art direction, animation, modeling, character design, texture creation, and so on.

Best Narrative

The Best Narrative Award recognizes the overall excellence of storytelling in a game - including, but not limited to, scenario, plot construction, story, dialogue, and other major factors.

Best Debut

The Best Debut Award recognizes the best game from any development studio, which released its first publicly available title in the year 2016.

Best Handheld/Mobile Game

Best Handheld/Mobile Game Award recognizes the overall best game commercially released on any handheld platform during 2015.

Innovation Award

The Innovation Award recognizes the single game that demonstrates true innovation, advances the state of the art, and pushes the boundaries of games as an expressive medium.

Game of the Year Award

The Game of the Year Award recognizes the choice of game developers for the overall best game release during 2016.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes the career and achievements of a developer who has made an indelible impact on the craft of game development and games as a whole.

Pioneer Award

The Pioneer Award (formerly known as the First Penguin Award) celebrates those individuals who developed a breakthrough technology, game concept, or gameplay design at a crucial juncture in video game history - paving the way for the myriads who followed them.

Ambassador Award

The Ambassador Award honors an individual or individuals who have helped the game industry advance to a better place, either through facilitating a better game community from within, or by reaching outside the industry to be an advocate for video games and help further our art.


If you're interested in sponsoring the Game Developers Choice Awards, please click the button below for our list of sponsorship opportunities.